Skip to Content

Stay Informed

Essential Critical Infrastructure Workers: What You Need to Know

Attorney: Reyna E. Macias, Sage R. Knauft | Published 3.25.20

California’s Public Health Officer has issued more specific guidance on which workers from the sixteen sectors designated as critical are considered “Essential Critical Infrastructure Workers.” These workers are exempt from Governor Newsom’s March 19 stay-at-home order. The 16 sectors are as follows:

1. Healthcare/Public Health
2. Emergency Services
3. Public Works
4. Food and Agriculture
5. Electricity Industry
6. Petroleum Workers
7. Natural and Propane Gas
8. Water and Wastewater
9. Transportation and Logistics
10. Communications and Information Technology
11. Community-Based Government Operations
12. Select Critical Manufacturing
13. Hazardous Materials
14. Financial Services
15. Chemical
16. Defense Industrial Base

For the entire document issued by California’s Public Health Officer, with additional detail as to workers who fall into the 16 essential categories, please click here.

If you have any questions, please contact the attorneys within the firm that provide your representation.